Posted by on July 5, 2024 4:15 pm
Originally From: Attitude

Tags: , , , , , ,

Layla Moran, Chris Bryant, and Nia Griffith are among the LGBTQ+ MPs (Image: UK Parliament)

Following a landslide victory in Thursday’s (4 July) election, we have a new Labour government in power, bringing to an end 14 years of Conservative Party rule. At the time of writing on Friday (5 July) Labour has won 412 seats in the House of Commons, an increase of 211. Meanwhile, the Tories suffered their worst Parliamentary defeat losing 250 MPs so far.

We’ve had a look through the new crop of MPs to count how many identify as LGBTQ+ and how many of those are new entries into the Houses of Parliament. There were 67 out-LGBTQ+ MPs when the election was called and Parliament dissolved. At the time of writing, there are 54


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

live cams now